Justin’s Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of 2017

I’m always a little late with this list (as well as my Top 10 of the Year list, which never seems to happen). In years past, John and I have done this list as an episode on the podcast but he’s told me he hates doing this list and since his computer has died, I figured I’d just go ahead and type mine up. So click through, check out my list and tell me what you think.

it-banner

10. IT (release date: September 8)

My interest in this film might decrease a substantial amount once the trailer arrives but I’m remaining optimistic for the time being. It’s really only a half adaptation as it covers only the children’s encounter/battle with Pennywise and his various forms. I believe the second half, dealing with the kids all grown up, is contingent on the first half doing well. In Stephen King’s novel, the scenes with the children take place in the 50’s and this upcoming film has modernized it a little setting it in the 80’s, which will be interesting. I’m eager to see a glimpse of Bill Skarsgard’s iteration of Pennywise. Hopefully we’ll see a trailer soon.

blade-runner-20494

9. Blade Runner 2049 (release date: October 6)

I saw the original Blade Runner pretty late in my life, but I did get to see it in the theater for my first time. When Ridley Scott released his Final Cut there was a short theatrical run and I was able to check it out and I’m glad I did. It’s become one of my favorite science fiction films and, like most of the Blade Runner fans, I was a little wary when the sequel was announced. But with Dennis Villenueve (now Academy Award nominee Dennis Villenueve) at the helm, I’m fairly confident we will get a solid sequel to the sci-fi classic. The teaser trailer that was released recently convinced me and I cannot wait to see it.

spiderman-homecoming

8. Spider-Man: Homecoming (release date: July 7)

You know it’s going to be good year for movies when the new Spider-Man film is 8th on the list. Hopefully any Spider-Man fatigue has dissipated after seeing Tom Holland’s take on the web-slinger in last year’s Captain America: Civil War. The new film looks fun and exciting and possibly the best take on Spider-Man yet. Also, Michael Keaton as the Vulture? Yes, please.

thor-ragnarok

7. Thor: Ragnarok (release date: November 3)

We’ve yet to see a trailer for this film either so maybe it should be below Spider-Man. However, I was lucky enough to see a brief glimpse of footage (mostly behind-the-scenes) at last year’s Comic-Con and what I saw looked amazing. Plus, there are two more major reasons to be excited for this film. Director Taika Waititi, whose film Hunt for the Wilderpeople was one of last year’s comedic gems, and the inclusion of Planet Hulk in the storyline. This sounds like a lot of fun. Can’t wait.

wonder-woman-banner

6. Wonder Woman (release date: June 2)

It’s kind of crazy that this is Wonder Woman’s first live-action feature film. With the superhero film boom that started roughly fifteen years ago, you’d think Warner Bros would have released her own film years ago. Hopefully everyone is excited about this new movie, despite their feelings on Batman v Superman or Suicide Squad. The trailer looks fantastic and Wonder Woman was one of the best parts of BvS. Since WW had basically given up on mankind in BvS, some folks are concerned about how this film will end. Since it’s set in the past, does she just give up at the end? I’m hoping director Patty Jenkins and screenwriters Allan Heinberg and Geoff Johns (who is also the president and Chief Creative Officer at DC comics) will come up with something great and leave Wonder Woman’s fans happy and wanting for more.

gotg-2

5. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (release date: May 5)

The first Guardians of the Galaxy is arguably Marvel Studio’s best film to date and the second film looks just as good. Again, I was able to see some footage at Comic-Con (most of which was in the recently released trailer) and what I saw looked funny and exciting. Writer/Director James Gunn clearly loves these characters and it shows on screen. Hopefully we get a sequel that outshines the original and doesn’t leave us with a bitter taste in our mouths, wishing it could have been more like the first.

logan

4. Logan (release date: March 3)

Hugh Jackman’s final performance as Wolverine is just over a month away and it couldn’t be more bittersweet. Jackman has played Wolverine a whopping total of nine times (including his cameos in First Class and Apocalypse)! We’ve been incredibly lucky as X-Men audiences to have an actor who loves the playing the character as much as he has. I feel if someone else had been cast, we wouldn’t have gotten nearly as many movies as Jackman has given us. So it’s completely understandable that he’s ready to hang the claws up but it also makes me sad that this will be the last time. Whoever plays him next (which hopefully won’t be for a while) has some huge shoes to fill. Logan is also going to be our first R rated Wolverine story, which has a lot of folks excited. It makes sense since this character literally has metal claws that protract from his fists. There will be blood. Oh, yes, there will be blood.

the-dark-tower-roland

3. The Dark Tower (release date: July 28)

This film has been a long time in the making. Ron Howard (who is now a producer on the film) was once slated to direct and there was a lot of talk about the series being adapted as both films and a TV show (which might still be the case. I’m actually not sure, to be honest, since the plan has changed so many times). Now director Nikolaj Arcel is the man behind the camera. I’ve never seen any of his films so I can’t speak on his abilities as a director but hopefully he’s up to the challenge. These books, written by Stephen King, are some of my favorites. In fact, The Dark Tower series may be my favorite series of books I’ve ever read and I am very curious as to how they plan on adapting them. I already know that this first film is not a direct adaptation of The Gunslinger, the first book, but contains elements from several of the books. I’m not sure if that is a good idea or a bad idea. Only time will tell. All I know is that I love the casting of Idris Elba as Roland and Matthew McConaughey as the Man in Black and I can’t wait to see a trailer for this one. It was originally supposed to be released in February but got pushed back to July. Good sign or bad sign? I’m remaining optimistic.

star-wars-the-last-jedi-01232017-615x346

2. Star Wars: The Last Jedi (release date: December 15)

What?! Star Wars isn’t my number one most anticipated movie of 2017? It’s not. I’m very excited about this film, but I’m a bit more excited about a different one. That being said, I absolutely cannot wait to see what writer/director Rian Johnson has in store for us. I’ve recently seen some negative feedback online for The Force Awakens, which surprised me. Perhaps I live in a naive bubble, but I thought most folks loved The Force Awakens, myself included. Not the case, as it turns out. A lot of folks out there found it derivative. Who knew? No trailer for this film yet so we can only speculate so far on it’s plot but I imagine it’s safe to say we’ll see more Luke Skywalker this time around and that’s always good.

justice-league-first-image

1. Justice League (release date: November 17)

I’m a big DC Comics fan and I was a big fan of Batman v Superman. One of the few (the very few). The small bit of footage we saw at Comic-Con was my favorite of all the sneak peeks we were shown. I am pumped for this film and cannot wait to see the League in action. We’ve never seen The Flash, Aquaman or Cyborg on the big screen (minus their small cameos in BvS and Suicide Squad) so that’s incredibly exciting. My main concern with this film will be giving each character the attention they deserve. When Marvel’s The Avengers was released in 2012, each character (with the exception of Black Widow and Hawkeye) had their own movie released prior so audiences were familiar with them. Not the case with Justice League. It’s safe to say Batman, Wonder Woman and Superman won’t need any reintroduction after BvS and the upcoming Wonder Woman film but The Flash, Cyborg and Aquaman all need their fair share of story time. If this film ends up being three hours long, I won’t care (I liked the three hour version of BvS!) but hopefully Zack Snyder can give us a movie that doesn’t feel rushed or bogged down by too many characters/storylines. So far we haven’t seen any footage of Henry Cavill’s Superman, so I’m curious if his return will be late in the film (which will be a bit of a bummer for me as he’s my favorite superhero). I’m hoping we see an official trailer before too long but wouldn’t be surprised if it’s attached to Wonder Woman when it’s released in July.

Well, there you have it. My Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of 2017. What do you think? Did I forget any big movies that you can’t wait for? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

